IEA and ESA announce 2nd Stiglitz Essay Prize

IEA and ESA announce 2nd Stiglitz Essay Prize

The International Economic Association (IEA) is happy to announce the Second Stiglitz Essay Prize (SEP) in honour of the past President of the association, Joseph E. Stiglitz. This prize is possible thanks to the generous donation that the Economic Society of Australia pledged to the IEA.

Joseph E. Stiglitz is University Professor at Columbia University. In 2001, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in economics for his analyses of markets with asymmetric information. He was the President of the International Economic Association from 2011 to 2014.

The Stiglitz Essay will include two categories: undergraduate and graduate students in full time study.

The winners of the Stiglitz Essay Prize will be announced in early 2020, with the prize presentation to be made in a ceremony at the next IEA World Congress in 2020. The winner(s) of the Stiglitz Essay Prize in each category will be awarded 1,000 USD, and the runner(s)-up will receive 500 USD. The winning essay(s) and runner(s) up will be published on the IEA web site.

The essay can be up to 5,000 words on one of the subjects below. There will be a pre-selection process in charge of a team of school judges selected by the IEA. The short-listed essays will go to the judges: Kaushik Basu (IEA President) and Dani Rodrik (IEA President elect).

To be eligible for the prize, submitted essays should be on one of two broad themes:

  • The causes and policy implications of inequality
  • The reconstruction of macro-economics in light of the 2008 global crisis and its ramifications

All applicants are asked to note the following criteria:

  • Only one essay per person will be accepted
  • The maximum word count for essays is 5,000 words (the word count should appear at the end of each essay)
  • The word count includes footnotes, but excludes references and bibliography.
  • All of those who submit an essay should submit proof through a signed letter from an appropriate official at an academic institution that he or she is currently registered as a full-time student.
  • No revisions to entries are permitted once submitted
  • Please note that entries to the competition should be unique (i.e. not published elsewhere or submitted to other essay competitions.)
  • Entries must be submitted in either Microsoft Word (doc, docx) format or PDF format. No other formats are acceptable. The file name show be as follows: SEP_LAST NAME_Name.

The deadline for submitting essays is Thursday 31 October 2019 at 2359 hours (GMT).

Please send submissions to the IEA Secretariat on indicating in the subject your name as follows: SEP_LAST NAME_Name.

Any queries on the competition should be also addressed to the IEA Secretariat on the same email address.

File Attachments: